< Back News

Gibraltar updates red list of countries for travel to Gibraltar – 881/2021

By November 26, 2021 No Comments

In line with the UK Government, Gibraltar will add several countries to the red list of countries for travel to Gibraltar, with effect from 1:00pm on Friday 26th November 2021.

In order to safeguard the public health of Gibraltar, the following countries will be added to the red list:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Passengers should continue to check the travel guidance including before, during and after travel to keep up to date in entry requirements and ensure compliance with the latest COVID-19 rules. The Technical Notice COVID-19 – TESTING AND SELF-ISOLATION REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTRY INTO GIBRALTAR provides a detailed explanation of the requirements.

No person who has been in a red list country in the 10-day period preceding their date of arrival into Gibraltar may enter Gibraltar unless they meet one of the exemption categories specified in the Technical Notice.

Minister for Civil Contingencies, the Hon Samantha Sacramento, said: ‘Gibraltar has today updated its red list, following reports of a new COVID-19 variant of concern in those countries. HM Government of Gibraltar is continuously monitoring the global situation and evidence regarding COVID-19 and will move quickly, on Public Health advice, to implement any necessary safeguards that are deemed appropriate and proportionate.

‘Members of the public in Gibraltar can be reassured that the vaccine continues to be effective in preventing severe illness and hospitalisation, and there are very few cases in the age groups that have received boosters, which demonstrates that the booster is working. I strongly encourage everyone who is offered a booster to take it as soon as possible.’