< Back News


By November 10, 2020 No Comments
786.1 2020

The annual Bookmark Competition is organised on behalf of the Ministry of Culture by Gibraltar Cultural Services and the Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group. The competition attracted a total of 243 entries.

The Minister for Culture, the Hon Prof John Cortes, presented the awards at a closed event on Tuesday 10th November 2020 at 4.30pm at the Mario Finlayson Gallery, City Hall. The overall results as follows:

Overall Winner                                             Mia Hook                                         

Winner School Year’s 3–6                          Amabel Carruthers                                                                     

Winner School Year’s 7–10                       Mia Hook                                  

Adult Winner                                                Helen Mumford


Highly Commended:


Ruby Brooks                                                  School Year’s 3-6

Josephine Anne Gingell                               School Year’s 3-6

Jack Owen Hill                                              School Year’s 3-6

Alexia Israel                                                  School Year’s 3-6

Arianne Parody                                             School Year’s 3-6

Gabriella Risso                                              School Year’s 3-6

Nooran Tizniti                                               School Year’s 3-6

Kate Vinent                                                   School Year’s 3-6

Sofia Ashitat                                                  School Year’s 7-10

Louisanne Brier                                             School Year’s 7-10

John Chacon                                                 School Year’s 7-10

Rohan Chugani                                             School Year’s 7-10

Jeremy Ghio                                                  School Year’s 7-10

Sean Francis Ballester                                  Adult Category

Due to no entries in this year’s 11-13 category, the Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group have introduced the Dyslexia Support Group Award as an alternative prize for this year’s competition. This was awarded to Maya Bezalel Baharal.

Commenting on the event, the Minister for Culture, the Hon Prof John Cortes, said: “The Bookmark Competition gives another dimension to culture and adds a literary angle to HM Government autumn cultural programme.  I am extremely pleased with the high number of entries, but more importantly, with the quality of the entries. I would like to thank everyone involved in this venture, including the Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group, the Department of Education and especially the adjudicators who judged the competition. However, I would like especially thank the many individuals who have designed a bookmark, and in doing so allowed us to enjoy their excellent work.”

Stuart Byrne GDSG Chairperson, said: “The Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group would like to thank all the participants for all their entries and hopes that in the process of doing research for their bookmark designs they found out a little bit more about Dyslexia. We also want to thank the Ministry of Culture and the Department of Education in making this a success and part of the annual Cultural Programme.”